Dr. Victor Halbert Diary (1945 - 1946)

 

Wednesday, July 25, 1945:  (VBH)

Maude came from Devils Lake to Sylvania with C.H. Carroll.  Did two TPA's.  Heard Dr. Frank Whittaker in evening at Toledo Hospital library speak on Uterine bleeding in early pregnancies.'  Drove back to lake with Maude in evening.



Thursday, July 26, 1945:  (VBH)

Dr. Whittaker and wife Lillian called at our cottage in afternoon.  After late dinner, drove home for evening hours 7 to 10:30 p.m.



Friday, July 27, 1945:  (VBH)

Put two dressed spring geese in frozen food locker.  Did two TPA's.  Lunched with Floyd Coultrap at Toledo Hospital - very busy all day.  Ended up at Fred Myers' home at 11 p.m. with one whiskey highball.



Saturday, July 28, 1945:  (VBH)

10 a.m. practice, light housework done - hope to accomplish much old desk work, which I dislike, and go to lake this eve.



Sunday, July 29, 1945:  (VBH)

Maude, Suzette, Marjorie trimmed up front near breakwater.  Fair & warm.



Monday, July 30, 1945:  (VBH)

Had breakfast at Smith's in Toledo with Marjorie and with Suzette.  Had swordfish at Dyer's in Toledo for dinner.



Tuesday, July 31, 1945:  (VBH)

Plenty of work - one baby - evening hours 7 to 11:30.  Had to turn patients away.  Letter from F.W.H. dated Cairo 7-19-45.



Wednesday, August 1, 1945:  (VBH)

Wound up work in Sylvania and arrived at cottage for six o'clock dinner.  Cool quiet nights, always at the cottage - wonderful for sleeping - especially after a dip in the lake.



Thursday, August 2, 1945:  (VBH)

Warm but not humid, not uncomfortable.  Suzette and David Wood, Patricia Palmer and David Colbath on furlough from navy training at Chicago went to dance at Manitou - Dean Hudson's twenty-piece band.  Dressed Mrs. Geo. Kxxxx's burned leg, gave Fred Exxxxxxxxx first tetanus tox and shot.  Maude and I attended buffet supper and auction at Rollin Grange in evening.



Friday, August 3, 1945:  (VBH)

Cool night - two blankets.  Patricia Palmer returned with Chuck Carroll to Sylvania.  In evening, closed up cottage and built fire in heating stove.



Saturday, August 4, 1945:  (VBH)

Perfect weather at lake.  Mowed lawn, repaired Suzette's bicycle, brought wood from Rollin for fire box, groceries from Manitou Beach.  Re-moored row boat, tinkered with out-board motor - it finally worked, replaced light-switch in cottage, went fishing in evening with Chuck Carroll and had midnight lunch at Carroll cottage.  Caught one fair-sized large-mouthed black bass.



Sunday, August 5, 1945:  (VBH)

Suzette and David placed in yacht race.  Oechsler family here for the day.  Rain late afternoon and evening.



Monday, August 6, 1945:  (VBH)

Warmer, strong west winds kept us cool - made interesting sailing.  Rigged up fishing gear.  Looked like good evening for fishing - caught 0.



Tuesday, August 7, 1945:  (Maude)

Vic went to Sylvania to work at the desk.  Mary, Colleen, Sue and I went to Adrian.



Wednesday, August 8, 1945:  (Maude)

Mary Carroll helped me clean and bake, etc. to make ready for the Howland's.  Howland's came in time for dinner.



Friday, August 10, 1945:  (Maude)

Word came of peace with Japan.

Howland's left at eight p.m.

Vic had to go home & Dr. Cosgrove was called away because of the death of Mrs. C.'s brother.



Saturday, August 11, 1945: (Maude)

Marjorie stopped in for an hour.



Sunday, August 12, 1945:  (VBH)

Maude, Suzette, V.B.H. at cottage.  Pleasant day - all drove to Sylvania in evening.



Monday, August 13, 1945:  (VBH)

All busy in Sylvania.



Tuesday, August 14, 1945:  (VBH)

Peace with Japan - drove up to cottage 10:30 p.m.



Wednesday, August 15, 1945:  (VBH)

Drove to Addison, stores closed.  Maude and V.B.H. fished in eve.  Two bass.



Thursday, August 16, 1945:  (VBH)

Fished in eve.  V.B.H. rows the boat.  Maude trawls with spinner - caught two rock bass.  Suzette and David washed and Simonized car, went to Sonny Dunham band dance at Manitou Beach.



Friday, August 17, 1945:  (VBH)

Maude, V.B.H., Mary, Suzette, David Wood shopped in Brooklyn, Michigan.



Saturday, August 18, 1945:  (VBH)

V.B.H. in Sylvania, back at cottage for dinner.  Letter from Frederick written Cairo Aug. 11 announced change of status pending.  Gas and speed restrictions off congested highways and increased traffic hazards.  Predict he may be home soon.



Sunday, August 19, 1945:  (VBH)

Duke Cotterman, Doreen Cotterman, Stan, Carol here for dinner and evening - very enjoyable day.



Monday, August 20, 1945:  (VBH)

Day of loafing and reading - tried various tea rooms by phone of dining reservations - all closed on wartime Monday.



Tuesday, August 21, 1945:  (VBH)

At cottage; finished book American Chronicle' by Ray Stomnard Baker - good.  Maude and I played bridge at Lowry cottage with Flo and Chas. Chermotz.



Wednesday, August 22, 1945:  (VBH)

Cool at noon in Sylvania.  Left Maude and Suzette at Cottage.



Thursday, August 23, 1945:  (VBH)

No change in temperature - sunny days - moonlit night - practice - plenty.



Friday, August 24, 1945:  (VBH)

Weather as before - practice light.  Maude phoned from cottage, she is sending up personal medical needs.  Eddie' Wilson stopped enroute Devils Lake.  After midnight now - desk work (I dislike it) since 10 p.m.



Saturday, August 25, 1945:  (VBH)

Ruth phoned from South Byron, NY.  Chuck Carroll's father died 8:10 p.m.  Maude and Suzette returned from lake.  Marjorie joined us for supper.



Sunday, August 26, 1945:  (VBH)

Lieutenant Michael Esquival back from German front, stayed with us 11 to 3.  Geo., Ruth, Joan and Halbert Heath by auto thru Canada arrived about 8 p.m.  Marjorie returned to Toledo on late bus.



Monday, August 27, 1945:  (VBH)

After full day of work for Maude and V.B.H., Geo, Ruth, Maude and V.B.H. in our car; Suzette and Joan in Geo's car drive to cottage.



Tuesday, August 28, 1945:  (VBH)

Stiff, cool, s.w. lake breeze, motored and sailed on lake, good brisk morning blast, grand 4 p.m. dinner after all except Ruth came in from swim.  V.B.H. to office by 6 p.m.  Heath family came in about 10 p.m.  Maude and Suzette and Mac stayed at cottage.  Warm in Sylvania - quite warm.



Wednesday, August 29, 1945:  (VBH)

Last night sultry warm and too noisy for good sleep - never like this at the lake.  Up at 7, breakfast at 8, Heath's left for South Byron, N.Y. at 9 a.m.



Thursday, August 30, 1945:  (VBH)

Hot - 90 on east porch at 4 p.m.  Neighbor Johnson reported 95.  No breeze - very dry.  Very busy all day - especially 6:30-10:30 p.m.  Letter to Ruth Heath.  Bought $50 war bond, expect to see it mature - may need it then.



Friday, August 31, 1945:  (VBH)

Late evening - off to cottage for Labor Day weekend.



Saturday, September 1, 1945:  (VBH)

At cottage - cool, clear.



Sunday, September 2, 1945:  VBH)

Sun. at cottage.  Chicken dinner at Fred Myers' cottage.  Cool, clear.



Monday, September 3, 1945:  (VBH)

Cool, clear - Labor Day at lake.



Tuesday, September 4, 1945:  (VBH)

Returned to Sylvania about 1 p.m. - warmer.



Wednesday, September 5, 1945:  (VBH)

Wrote letter to Frederick at Casablanca.  Maude and I saw Anchors Aweigh' at Loew Valentine theater in Toledo.  Suzette's first day as a senior in Burnham High School.



Friday, September 14, 1945:  (VBH)

Met Carroll Hxxxxxx 5:30 a.m. at Toledo Union Station - evidently came here to escape home and church life for the time being, reorient himself, and receive medical and surgical help for his leg.



Wednesday, September 19, 1945:  (VBH)

Carroll's right leg operated by Drs. McNamara & Hufford at St. Vincent's Hospital.



Saturday, September 22, 1945:  (VBH)

Carroll left for Rochester at 12:16 a.m.  Expected to arrive about 7:30.  About 2 p.m. Maude, Suzette and V.B.H. went to Adrian Fair, then on to cottage at Devils Lake.



Sunday, September 23, 1945:  (VBH)

Returned from cottage in rain but most of the day at the lake was pleasant.  Maude and I wrote to Frederick on a paper towel - no other paper at the cottage - except some in the bathroom and wood box.



Monday, September 24, 1945:  (VBH)

Received letter from F.W.H. written Casablanca September 17.